Press / Articles / Reviews

2020

Breaking Down Bittersweet Barriers. By Aref Omar. News Straits Times, 11 Mar 2020. https://www.nst.com.my/lifestyle/groove/2020/03/573606/showbiz-breaking-down-bittersweet-barriers

How To Tell Stories That Live In People’s Memories? An interview with Ridhwan Saidi by Sukhbir Cheema. Eksentrika, 13 Mar 2020.  https://eksentrika.com/ridhwan-saidi/

Masam, Manis and the Things in Between. Presented by Sharmilla Ganesan. The Bigger Picture, Front Row, 10 Mar 2020. Ridhwan Saidi, playwright/director | Sadiq M. Jamil, actor | Lew Shu Ni, actor. https://www.bfm.my/podcast/the-bigger-picture/front-row/fr-masam-manis-between

Masam Manis Aifm radio interview. Host EsselYap En She. Guest CK and Mia Sabrina. Aifm radio, 27 Feb 2020. video 1 and video 2 link here.

New Play ‘Masam Manis’ explores bittersweet conundrum of private and public personas in conservative Malaysia. Melanie Chalil. The Malay Mail, 10 Feb 2020. https://www.malaymail.com/news/life/2020/02/10/new-play-masam-manis-explores-bittersweet-conundrum-of-private-and-public-p/1836111

Turning old KL buildings into art spaces: does it really work? Dinesh Kumar Maganathan and Terence Toh. The Star, 9 Feb 2020. https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/culture/2020/02/09/turning-old-kl-buildings-into-art-spaces-does-it-really-work

2019

Moka Mocha Ink, an indie publisher, is making strides in literature and theatre circles. Dhinesh Kumar Maganathan. The Star, 20 Jul 2019. https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/culture/2019/07/20/moka-mocha-ink-indie-publisher-local-publishing-theatre-scene

Teater Normcore: Double Bill, July 23rd & 24th 2019. Eleanor Ohlsen. Penang Free Sheet, 14 Jul 2019. https://penangfreesheet.my/teater-normcore-double-bill-july-23rd-24th-2019/

Terperangkap Dalam Kontinuum Idea-Mimpi. Karim Mohd. 31 Jan 2019. https://karimmohd.wordpress.com/2019/01/31/terperangkap-dalam-kontinuum-idea-mimpi/

2018

“Teater Normcore: Stereo Genmai” dan Pengkarya yang Bertengkar dengan Idea. Azrin Fauzi. Artsequator, 6 Dec 2018. https://artsequator.com/teater-normcore-stereo-genmai/

“Teater Modular”: Blok-blok Cerita dalam Ledakan Teater Mandiri. Azrin Fauzi. 24 Oct 2018. http://azrinfauzi.blogspot.com/2018/10/teater-modular-blok-blok-cerita-dalam.html

Has Anyone Seen the Character I Wrote? Presented by Sharmilla Ganesan. The Bigger Picture, Front Row, 18 Oct 2018. Ridhwan Saidi, writer & director | Hannan Barakbah, performer | Nurul Aizam, producer. https://www.bfm.my/podcast/the-bigger-picture/front-row/has-anyone-seen-the-character-i-wrote

Novelist clashes with character he created in surreal theatre show ‘Stereo Genmai’. Terence Toh. The Star, 18 Oct 2018. https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/culture/2018/10/18/surreal-teater-normcore-stereo-genmai-five-arts-centre-theatre-production/

Upcoming play ‘Stereo Genmai’ explores novelist’s writing process and character creation. Melanie Chalil. The Malay Mail, 15 Oct 2018. https://www.malaymail.com/news/showbiz/2018/10/15/upcoming-play-stereo-genmai-explores-novelists-writing-process-and-characte/1683124

【艺术好好玩】徘徊在梦境与现实的黑色幽默 – Teater Normcore: Stereo Genmai. CITY Plus FM, 7 Oct 2018. shorturl.at/crBPT

The Actors Studio Seni Teater Rakyat aims to cultivate Malaysian playwrights. Mae Chan. Options, The Edge, 3 Oct 2018. https://www.optionstheedge.com/topic/culture/actors-studio-seni-teater-rakyat-aims-cultivate-malaysian-playwrights

Harapan Baharu dalam Teater Kontemporari Malaysia melalui ‘Teater Modular’. Fasyali Fadzly. Critics Republic, 24 Apr 2018. https://www.criticsrepublic.com/2018/04/24/harapan-baharu-dalam-teater-kontemporari-malaysia-melalui-teater-modular/

Making Modular Theatre. Presented by Sharmilla Ganesan. The Bigger Picture, Front Row,  5 Apr 2018. Ridhwan Saidi, writer. https://www.bfm.my/podcast/the-bigger-picture/front-row/making-modular-theatre

Warehouse arts space KongsiKL hosts novelist Ridhwan Saidi’s ‘Teater Modular’. Rouwen Lim. The Star, 1 Apr 2018. https://www.thestar.com.my/lifestyle/culture/2018/04/01/kongsikl-playlets-ridhwan-saidi-teater-modular-experimental-theatre/

Review: Teater Normcore by Ridhwan Saidi (Kuala Lumpur). Bakchormeeboy, 9 Feb 2018. https://bakchormeeboy.com/2018/02/09/review-teater-normcore-by-ridhwan-saidi-kuala-lumpur/

2017

Extending your play’s shelf-life – Self-publishing for playwrights. Amy de Kanter. Arteri, 30 Jun 2017. https://www.arteri.com.my/2017/06/30/extending-your-plays-shelf-life-self-publishing-for-playwrights/

ILHAM Gallery gallery guide 2017: May-October. http://ilhamgallery.com/data/uploads/docs/gallery-guide-2017.pdf

2016

Ten essential books by Malaysians for Malaysians: The local books starter pack. Nadia Rosli and Ng Su Ann. Time Out Kuala Lumpur, 6 June 2016. https://www.timeout.com/kuala-lumpur/things-to-do/ten-essential-books-by-malaysians-for-malaysians

Gaya baharu penulis muda. Berita Harian, 10 Mac 2016. https://www.bharian.com.my/node/132332

2014

The online link. Bissme S. The Sun Daily, 26 Mar 2014. https://www.thesundaily.my/archive/998198-BRARCH246010